*
*
Home
Help
Search
Login
Register
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Jul 29, 2014, 08:46:07 AM

Login with username, password and session length
Search: Advanced search
657799 Posts in 9259 Topics by 3396 Members Latest Member: - vlozan86 Most online today: 61 - most online ever: 494 (Jul 01, 2007, 02:59:53 PM)
Pages: [1] 2 3 4 5 6 ... 40
Print
Author Topic: Need tech support? post it here!  (Read 76790 times)
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
alexandra
Registered user

Posts: 7054


« on: Nov 19, 2005, 11:59:32 PM »

Guys, I thought it'd be a good idea for there to be one thread of awesomness to help anyone who has any computer issues at all. that way all us nerds can help you. Smile

so please feel free to go crazy!

ask away!
Logged

this message is now diamonds
heather marie
Registered user

Posts: 5753


« Reply #1 on: Nov 20, 2005, 12:05:41 AM »

command line windows. explain 'em.
Logged
alexandra
Registered user

Posts: 7054


« Reply #2 on: Nov 20, 2005, 12:14:21 AM »



(but not w2k, xp or whatever version you have)

it's just a way to execute programs, without using the graphical interface of *most* operating systems. you can do oh so much from a command line but you can also really fuck up your computer if you don't know what you're doing

it's like talking directly to your computer, with cute little codes and no fluffer.
Logged

this message is now diamonds
elpollodiablo
Registered user

Posts: 32624


« Reply #3 on: Nov 20, 2005, 12:39:02 AM »

I'm my own fluffer.

Okay: Why can't I get LimeWire to run? It's installed, but every time I try and open the executable, nothing happens. This has happened with a number of other programs, such as Azureus(or however it's spelled). I've been told this could possibly be a Java runtime problem... True?
Logged

think 'on the road.'
alexandra
Registered user

Posts: 7054


« Reply #4 on: Nov 20, 2005, 12:46:12 AM »

probably because your computer knows that limewire is crap. but let's trouble shoot it!

1. OS version?
2. What firewalls do you have?
3. How much ram?
4. How much Hard Disk space available?
5. What connection type? (eg: dialup, broadband, cable, etc.)
6. Modem & router brand name & model numbers?
7. Where are you trying to connect from (home, school, work, etc.)?
8. What version of Limewire (LW) & Java do you have?
9. Who is your isp provider (Internet Service Provider)?
10. Are you sharing the connection with other computers or p2p sharing programs? If yes, please give details of set up.
11. Do this simple test. go here: http://www3.limewire.com:6346/
The page should say 'Your test worked!'. What happens when you go there?
Logged

this message is now diamonds
alexandra
Registered user

Posts: 7054


« Reply #5 on: Nov 20, 2005, 12:48:38 AM »

also, are you using a Norton product that was loaded onto your computer after you installed Limewire?
Logged

this message is now diamonds
alexandra
Registered user

Posts: 7054


« Reply #6 on: Nov 20, 2005, 12:50:36 AM »

i have to go to work, but i'll answer stuffs in the am Smile
Logged

this message is now diamonds
jebreject
Registered user

Posts: 27071


« Reply #7 on: Nov 20, 2005, 01:36:29 AM »

Why use Limewire though?  Seriously.
Logged

I'm not racist, I've got lots of black Facebook friends.
elpollodiablo
Registered user

Posts: 32624


« Reply #8 on: Nov 20, 2005, 01:45:31 AM »

WTF! I'm young! I'm experimenting! I'm going to my room! I HATE YOU
Logged

think 'on the road.'
diesel_powered
Registered user

Posts: 19210


« Reply #9 on: Nov 20, 2005, 04:34:31 AM »

Limewire suxorz, stick with bittorrent.
Logged

Quote
she had me at "let's make a sandwich"
jebreject
Registered user

Posts: 27071


« Reply #10 on: Nov 20, 2005, 09:22:26 AM »

I like DC++ for music
Logged

I'm not racist, I've got lots of black Facebook friends.
alexandra
Registered user

Posts: 7054


« Reply #11 on: Nov 20, 2005, 09:51:27 AM »

Quote from: "jebreject"
I like DC++ for music
man... i haven't used that in ages. wow...
Logged

this message is now diamonds
leisure and poison
Registered user

Posts: 391


« Reply #12 on: Nov 20, 2005, 11:34:40 AM »

Dork.
Logged

Yeah! It's totally dismal and excellent!
alexandra
Registered user

Posts: 7054


« Reply #13 on: Nov 20, 2005, 11:35:13 AM »

Quote from: "leisure and poison"
Dork.
Evil or Very Mad
Logged

this message is now diamonds
leisure and poison
Registered user

Posts: 391


« Reply #14 on: Nov 20, 2005, 11:36:13 AM »

You know I'm hawt for dorks, though.
Logged

Yeah! It's totally dismal and excellent!
Jaiunchat
Registered user

Posts: 130


« Reply #15 on: Nov 20, 2005, 03:01:52 PM »

okay, the deal: my computer crashed, probably due to a drunk driving accident, but the actual cause is indeterminal.

When I turn my Gateway Profile 4X, I get a message reading: Harddrive cannot be found.

Does anyone know if it is possible to glean the last two and half years of writing/music collecting/photos from the harddrive?  or is it dead forever?

thax.
Logged

my tropical plants are in my shower.
dieblucasdie
Registered user

Posts: 24493


« Reply #16 on: Nov 20, 2005, 03:26:52 PM »

Go into the BIOS (I'm not sure how on your particular computer, just mash the F keys right after you turn it on)  It'll bring up a menu; find the place where it says "Restore Defaults" or "Load Defaults," choose it, choose "Save and Exit."  This'll make it redetect the HD.  In all honesty, though, the HD is probably just dead.  But resetting the BIOS might let you in one last time to get a backup going.

Is it making the much-beloved "Click of Death"?

[/i]
Logged

he was basically your only chance at making the world love you.
hannah
Registered user

Posts: 9366


« Reply #17 on: Nov 20, 2005, 03:29:34 PM »

Will vacuuming my computer (a hefty eMac) really make it run faster and not freeze? I've seriously tried everything, but haven't had time to get a Dustbuster (yeah, yeah, I know I should have one already: shush). This is what the tech support at my school said, but they aren't allowed into off-campus apartments and my computer is way too heavy to carry the ten minutes to the tech support lounge.
Logged
dieblucasdie
Registered user

Posts: 24493


« Reply #18 on: Nov 20, 2005, 03:32:58 PM »

Uh, unless it's really dusty, no.  How long have you had it?  Generally if it's running slow/freezing I'd say just backup and do an OS reinstall, but this is unusual for a Mac.  Unless by eMac you mean eMachine (shudder).
Logged

he was basically your only chance at making the world love you.
diesel_powered
Registered user

Posts: 19210


« Reply #19 on: Nov 20, 2005, 03:39:12 PM »

Don't you be talkin' smack about my eMachine...
Logged

Quote
she had me at "let's make a sandwich"
hannah
Registered user

Posts: 9366


« Reply #20 on: Nov 20, 2005, 03:40:24 PM »

Quote from: "dieblucasdie"
Uh, unless it's really dusty, no.  How long have you had it?  Generally if it's running slow/freezing I'd say just backup and do an OS reinstall, but this is unusual for a Mac.


I did an OS reinstall; didn't work. It might be really, really dusty, which is super-embarrassing, but, eh, so it goes. I've had it since September of 2002.
Logged
dieblucasdie
Registered user

Posts: 24493


« Reply #21 on: Nov 20, 2005, 03:42:38 PM »

Do you smoke in front of the computer a lot?  That's the only way I can see it getting dirty enough to affect performance in three years.  I've cleaned smoke-residue-covered computers and ewwww.   If you did an OS reinstall and its still doing it, it's 99.9% that it's a hardware problem, probably the hard drive or maybe RAM.

Did the freezing/slow performance resume RIGHT after the OS reinstall, or could there be an offending program?  Probably not, the way Macs allocate RAM, but worth asking.
Logged

he was basically your only chance at making the world love you.
diesel_powered
Registered user

Posts: 19210


« Reply #22 on: Nov 20, 2005, 04:53:23 PM »

Quote from: "hannah"
Quote from: "dieblucasdie"
Uh, unless it's really dusty, no.  How long have you had it?  Generally if it's running slow/freezing I'd say just backup and do an OS reinstall, but this is unusual for a Mac.


I did an OS reinstall; didn't work. It might be really, really dusty, which is super-embarrassing, but, eh, so it goes. I've had it since September of 2002.


I'd suck the dust bunnies out just on general principal. And smoking in front of a computer (or any other item of electronic equipment) is a major no-no.

How full is the hard drive? Full up to the tippy tippy top can create slowdowns and freezes as well.

You might also spring for a ram upgrade. Macs are extremely ram-dependant compared to Windows. I've got two gig running in my laptop and I frequently run that to capacity.
Logged

Quote
she had me at "let's make a sandwich"
alexandra
Registered user

Posts: 7054


« Reply #23 on: Nov 20, 2005, 04:57:50 PM »

i'm really excited, cause tonight i'm taking in a copy of suse and installing it on my work computer. i doubt anyone will notice and that makes me giggle in uncontrollable ways.
Logged

this message is now diamonds
Wally
Registered user

Posts: 9184


« Reply #24 on: Nov 20, 2005, 05:00:00 PM »

Quote from: "alexandra"
i'm really excited, cause tonight i'm taking in a copy of suse and installing it on my work computer. i doubt anyone will notice and that makes me giggle in uncontrollable ways.


and wally choked on his dinner.
Logged

Thus begin the chronicles of the Self-Loathing Gay Commando.
Pages: [1] 2 3 4 5 6 ... 40
Print
LPTJ | Archives | The Hangar | Topic: Need tech support? post it here!
Jump to:  

Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines
Board layout based on the Oxygen design by Bloc